Yoga has many definitions, but the common element is self-awareness. Yoga practices are designed and intended to promote self-knowing, or the deepening of consciousness about who we are in relation to ourselves and the outside world. This allows us to live up to our full potential as a human being. By repeatedly connecting to ourselves via the body, breath, and mind we are practicing Yoga. We discover little by little, or in flashes of perception, Who we really are. This makes us capable of relating to the outer world in a way that reduces suffering for ourselves and others by allowing us to respond with Love and Acceptance.

What is Ashtanga?

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga Yoga through physical postures (asana), movements synchronized with the breath (vinyasa), gaze points (drishti), and internal awareness (bandhas). This practice is described by the sage, Vamana in the Yoga Korunta. The text was re-discovered in the 1930’s in Calcutta, India by T. Krishnamacharya and his student Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. Pattabhi Jois from Mysore, India (affectionately known as Guruji) made translating and teaching this form of Yoga his life endeavor. There are a total of five (old method) or six (new method) series of Ashtanga Yoga; Primary Series, Secondary Series, and the Advanced Series. They cover a broad spectrum of postures, combinations of postures, and linking movements. Importance is given to the breathing and moving system in all the series, the breath is the most important element to place your awareness in. Progression through the series is not based on the ability of your body to perform postures, progression is based on consistency of your practice, familiarity of the pose and your body in the pose, or therapeutic needs.

Mysore Class

A Mysore class is individualized yoga for each person present in the room. In a Mysore class the entire class is not cued simultaneously through the same routine, instead we teach individually to each person in the class — even though people may learn the same postures, how each person does the postures is different, and how quickly each person progresses is different. In the beginning your practice is short as you learn the breathing and the warm up movements, each time you come back we add on until you get your full practice. In this way you will remember your own yoga practice and be empowered to practice it anywhere. Its fun to practice mysore style — everyone together as a little community doing their own practices and own routines — everyone doing something different, together. This is how we individualize a yoga practice.

Open Mysore

Same as Mysore except teachers are here from 4:00-8:00pm just waiting for you to come and practice. You can start your yoga anytime between 4:00-7:00, please be done and finished with rest pose by 8:00pm.

Led Primary

Students are cued through the Primary Series of Ashtanga yoga learning the breathing/moving synchronicity and how to get in and out of the poses staying with your breath. The class is appropriate for anyone who has learned primary series mysore style or who has a consistent practice. Primary series is known as Yoga Chikitsa, which means yoga therapy.

Led Second Series

The Second series of Ashtanga yoga is known as nadi shodhana which means nerve cleansing. Second series focuses on back bending postures, deeper forward bending postures and some inversions; it is a counter balance to primary series. In Second series we purify and strengthen the nervous system. After about one year of consistent practice most people are ready to learn the second series; this series is learned in a Mysore class — after you have learned the series in a Mysore class then Led Second is appropriate.

BeFit Class Schedule

4:00-8:00 Open Mysore

4:00-5:30 Mysore
5:30 Led Primary

4:00-8:00 Open Mysore

4:00-5:30 Mysore
5:30 Led Second series

Bobbi will be back in Central PA teaching from May 1 – Sept 30, 2018. All registrations for her classes will be taken directly through Bobbi.

Go top